### **Feilding High School**

Year 12 Prizegiving 2021



#### **Year 12 Merit**

Nikki Baker	The Byreburn Cup for Outstanding Practical Skills in Year 12 Agriculture	
Hamish Bennett	Physical Education	
Jon Berrett	Mathematics	
Grace Boustridge	Technology Textiles	
Nevaeh Bowsher-Dehar	Te Reo Maori	
Alyssa Brazendale	Nutrition and Food	
Ella Bron	Hospitality and Catering	
Luke Burton	Tourism	
Kim Carrington	Primary Industries, The Primary Industries Trade Academy Cup Level 2	
Liam Cotton	Physics	
Jessica Cowx	Tourism	
Harrison Cullwick-Dobson	Primary Industries	
Chance Dehar	Mathematics	
Danielle Deighton	Mathematics Studies	
Kenna Devane	Mathematics Studies	
Sophia Duthie	English	
Kaleb Edgecombe	English Skills	
Lawson Elmslie	Drama, Photography	
Corin Fenner	Business Studies, English	
Brieanna Gainey	Psychology	
Lucye Gardiner	English	
Eric Gleeson	English, Physics	
Eden Goodwin	Agricultural Science, The Lauriedale Trophy for Highest Aggregate Marks in Year 12 Agriculture	
Catherine Gray	Geography	
Issy Gray	Japanese	
Anika Hamilton	Biology, Chemistry	
Tom Henson	Technology Engineering	
Jade Hills-Brown	English Studies, Hospitality and Catering	
Zak Jenkins	English Studies, Physical Education	
Lachy Matthews	Music Industry	
William McDonald	Outdoor Adventure	
Madi McKay	Gateway, Tourism	
Mary McKellar	Agricultural Science	

Max Miller	Building
Tori Mills	Mathematics Studies
Alex Minnis	Health Related Studies
Kisha Morehu-Thompson	Year 11 Science Skills
Hannah Newton	English Studies
Ellery Nielsen	Biology, Chemistry
Angus Paterson	Physical Education, Science
Jamie Pedersen	Geography, The Cup for the Top Student in Year 12 Geography
Claudia Roberts	Psychology
Michael Sanson	Mathematics, Physics, The Feilding Optometry Cup for Year 12 Physics
Georgie Simpson	Sport Science
Chantelle Smith	Health Related Studies, Mathematics Studies
Matt Stewart	Outdoor Adventure
Ben Symonds	Technology Engineering
Meghan Varney	Mathematics
Jessica Walsh	Work Ready
Taleah Welch	Mathematics Studies
Paige Wight	Tourism
Emma Wilkinson	Art (Painting)
Brad Wilson	Chemistry
Payge Wilson	USkills
Ruby Winder	Accounting, The Miss B L Scott Memorial Prize for Accounting Year 12

#### **Year 12 General Excellence**

Hannah Brown	Accounting, The Miss B L Scott Memorial Prize for Accounting Year 12, Business Studies, Economics, The Horsfield Family Prize for Economics Year 12, Psychology
Amelia Cribb	English, Media Studies, The SJ Pike Cup for the Top Student in Year 12 Media Studies, Music
Chanel Currie	Biology, The Year 12 Biology Cup, Chemistry, The Institute of Chemistry (Manawatu) Cup for Year 12 Chemistry, English, Horticultural Science, The Senior Horticulture Prize, Mathematics
Oliver Dawson	Chemistry, English, Mathematics, The Smyth Family Cup for Top Student in Year 12 Mathematics, Physics
Emma Humphrey	English, History, Psychology

Zoe Lister	Art (Design), Business Studies, Design & Visual Communication, The Feilding Rotary Prize for Year 12 Design and Visual Communication, English, The Year 12 English Cup
Jorja Weld	Agricultural Science, Biology, English

# **Central Master Joiners Award for Contribution to Trades**

Jared Hill



### **New Zealand Sports Representative**

Vernon Bason	Rugby
Anika Hamilton	Canoe Polo
Georgie Simpson	Cycling



#### **Sports Gold Award**

Rakeihele Atutahi	Futsal
Vernon Bason	Rugby
Jordan Donnelly	Touch Rugby, Rugby League
Zak Jenkins	Futsal
Hunter Jensen	Canoe Polo
Ellery Nielsen	Canoe Polo
Ryan Rooney	Golf
Chantelle Smith	Netball
Sam Ward	Dressage



## Manukonga Tane for Te hiahia me te kounga o Te Reo Maori

Rihari Pokaia

#### **Thorley Cup for Champion House**

Rangitikei - House Captains - Millie Hansen and Matt Stewart



#### **House Captains and Officers 2022**

Simi Ului	Kairanga - House Captain
Kate Wasley	Kairanga - House Captain
Samuel Sheridan	Kairanga - Officer
Willow Darling	Kairanga - Officer
Mosese Bason	Kiwitea - House Captain
Angelyn Tauailoto	Kiwitea - House Captain
Georgie Simpson	Kiwitea - Officer
Hazeliz Tauailoto	Kiwitea - Officer
Rawanui Cuff	Kiwitea - Officer
Patrick Coogan	Manawatu - House Captain
Emma Humphrey	Manawatu - House Captain
Katie Bealing	Manawatu - Officer
Grace Carman	Manawatu - Officer

Arje Beveridge	Manawatu - Officer
Molly Thomas	Oroua - House Captain
Lachlan King	Oroua - House Captain
Lawson Elmslie	Oroua - Officer
Ruby Winder	Oroua - Officer
Nickster Jr Tafolo	Pohangina - House Captain
Emma Kendrick	Pohangina - House Captain
Joshua Poyzer	Pohangina - Officer
Tayla-Lee Malaesilia	Pohangina - Officer
Jason Luo	Pohangina - Officer
Jodie Kent	Rangitikei - House Captain
Matt Stewart	Rangitikei - House Captain
Sam Bird	Rangitikei - Officer
Aaone Sio	Rangitikei - Officer
Mackenna Chittenden	Ruahine - House Captain
Sam Greenway	Ruahine - House Captain
Rylee Scott	Ruahine - Officer
Lily Hikawai	Ruahine - Officer
Angus Paterson	Ruahine - Officer
Matthew Anstis	Tararua - House Captain
Jaime Sleator	Tararua - House Captain
Max Hopcroft	Tararua - Officer
Cambria Hall	Tararua - Officer

## **Ian Spence Memorial Prize for Progress in the Senior School**

Grace Boustridge

Nevaeh Bowsher-Dehar

Amanda Hour



#### **Year 12 Deans Awards**

Nikki Baker

Lucye Gardiner

Emma Humphrey

Hunter Jensen

Molly Thomas



### **Year 12 Principal's Awards**

Emily Coogan

Matthew Coogan

Sam Greenway

Millie Hansen

Meghan Varney



#### **Sportsperson of the Year**



#### Vernon Bason

Vernon has been the school 1st XV Boys Rugby team captain this year. As a player he leads from the front and is not afraid to be the first to put his hand up to face any challenge. Vernon values building connection and relationship with those around him. His teammates have been inspired by his committed approach on the field where he has very much led by example, never allowing the game situation to dampen his enthusiasm or passion for the game or his devotion to the team. Vernon was awarded the Tiny White Trophy which recognises the Most Outstanding Player in our school 1st XV. He was also named in the Hurricanes U18 Rugby squad which assembled during the last holidays. The highlight for this season has been Vernon's selection for the New Zealand Secondary School Rugby team as a Year 12 student. The high calibre of talent and rugby programmes at schools from all over New Zealand means making this team is a very prestigious honour for any aspiring rugby player. We look forward to watching you on the field again next season. Congratulations Vernon on being our Sportsperson of the Year for 2021!

#### The Thomson Trophy for Academic Excellence in Year 12



#### Zoe Lister

Zoe is a very capable and hard-working student. She applies an excellent work-ethic both with her academic work and in her endeavours outside of the classroom. Zoe has gained all 49 of her Level 2 credits to date at Excellence this year. Her work reflects attention to detail and a comprehensive understanding of curriculum material. Zoe is very disciplined in her approach and she works with focus and determination to achieve to a high standard in all of her work. She excels in subject areas that allow her to utilise her imagination and creative flair. Zoe has finished the year with 1st placings in English, Digital/Visual Communication, Art Design and Photography. Zoe has also been extensively involved in activities beyond the classroom with a focus on giving back to others in our school and local community. She is involved in the Social Committee, Giving Back group, Peer Support Programme, while also working towards her Duke of Edinburgh Silver and being a Manawatu District Youth Council Member. Zoe's contributions this year have been recognised with selection as the FAHS representative at the World Vision Senior Scholarship Summit in January next year. Zoe is an all-round student and a deserving recipient of the top Year 12 student award.